The Daily 澳门新蒲京娱乐场 won the coveted Hugh Cudlipp award last night for our Hillsborough justice campaign.

The award was presented to 澳门新蒲京娱乐场 columnist Brian Reade at a glittering ceremony at the Lancaster London Hotel.

Reade has led the campaign for justice for the families of the Hillsborough disaster which resulted in the death of 96 Liverpool fans on 15 April 1989.

The Daily 澳门新蒲京娱乐场 stood by the families and fought for an apology from the Government over the way the tragedy was handled – which was finally delivered by Prime Minister David Cameron last year.

Accepting the honour at the Press Awards, Brian said: “I’ve been on this story for 24 years and I just think it’s overwhelming that it’s finally been recognised by national newspapers.”

Hillsborough disaster front page
Fight for justice: Front page in 1996

He added: “This story has had so many years in the wilderness and the Daily 澳门新蒲京娱乐场 kept it going since 1989.

“Often when you do campaigns you think will it win, this year it may win.

“Ultimately I’d love to dedicate this award to the families that never stopped believing they’d get justice.”

He thanked previous editors Piers Morgan and Richard Wallace, along with our current editor Lloyd Embley – and Daily 澳门新蒲京娱乐场 reporters Luke Traynor and Lucy Thornton.

And finally he paid tribute to the Hillsborough mothers who refused to let their children down.

Hillsborough front page in 2009
Tribute: Hillsborough front page in 2009

“This is down to mothers' love,” he said. “Thank you.”

When the Hillsborough Independent Panel finally concluded in September last year that no Liverpool fans were responsible for the deaths, we ran a front page headline “The truth”.

And we told our readers: “The truth – and we mean an accurate account of the disaster, not the grotesque lies spread by Margaret Thatcher’s government – is a victory for the relatives, friends and supporters of those who had the life crushed out of them that afternoon in Sheffield.

"Without the campaign, the panel reviewing the dreadful events would never have been set up, today’s report would never have been published and as many as half a million pages of evidence would never be released."

Front page: How we reported the breakthrough last year

BBC Breakfast’s Susanna Reid presented the awards ceremony, attended by over 450 people.

Sunday 澳门新蒲京娱乐场 reporter Andrew Dagnall was awarded the Young Journalist of the Year prize while the Daily 澳门新蒲京娱乐场's Mark Jefferies was highly commended for Showbiz Journalist of the Year.

And the Daily 澳门新蒲京娱乐场 was highly commended in the Front Page of the Year award for our coverage of the huge public support for the Queen on her Diamond Jubilee River pageant.

The headline on our front page was: “Look at all those people.”

The full list of winners

Kevin Maguire interviewed before the awards
澳门新蒲京娱乐场 man: Kevin Maguire interviewed before the awards

Young Journalist: Andrew Dagnall, Sunday 澳门新蒲京娱乐场

Business and Finance: Tom Bergin, Thomson Reuters

Political Journalist: Simon Walters, The Mail on Sunday

Foreign reporter: Marie Colvin, The Sunday Times

ShowBiz: Gordon Smart, The Sun

Sports Journalist: David Walsh, The Sunday Times

Specialist Journalist: Sean Rayment, The Sunday Telegraph

Feature Writer (broadsheet): David James Smith, The Sunday Times

Feature Writer (popular): Andrew Malone, Daily Mail

Interviewer (broadsheet): Lynn Barber, The Sunday Times

Interviewer (popular): Nick Curtis, London Evening Standard

Columnist (broadsheet): Peter Oborne, The Daily Telegraph

Columnist (popular): Jane Moore, The Sun

Critic: Craig Brown, The Mail on Sunday

Photographer: Phil Noble, Reuters

Sports Photographer: Andy Hooper, Daily Mail

Cartoonist: Dave Brown, The Independent

Supplement: Observer Food Monthly, The Observer

Digital: Mail Online

Best of Humour: Craig Brown, Daily Mail

Scoop: 'The Tax Avoiders' - Alexi Mostrous and Fay Schlesinger, The Times

Front Page: The Sunday Telegraph

News Reporter: Alexi Mostrous, The Times

The Cudlipp Award: Daily 澳门新蒲京娱乐场

News Team: The Times

Sports Team: The Sunday Times

Production and Design Team: London Evening Standard

Journalists' Charity Award: Bob Satchwell, Society of Editors